jump to navigation

Mr. Zane Zieman January 30, 2009

Posted by prairiewoman in Family & Friends.
trackback

Mr. Zieman was an English teacher and librarian at Bennett County High School during my high school days.  I credit my love of reading and books to two people, my mother and Mr. Zieman.  I can still picture him at the front of the class, open book in hand, looking out over the class and waxing elequently on a deep subject. I’m glad he realized his life long dream to open a book and what not shop on Martin’s main street. Every time I came home for a visit, I dropped in to buy local history books and chat with Zane. Several of his students are going to his funeral this morning and I just wanted to let him know how much I appreciate everything he did for me. 

 ‘Zane Zieman, 85, Martin, died Monday, January 26, 2009 at Bennett County Senior Center in Martin.’ 

Jeannie emailed me with this remembrance, “Hi Roseanna, I was just on your Prairie woman site and read your comments about Zane Zeiman.I will tell you this about him from my own dealing with him.When I worked at the College Center, he taught an English class and I was a student.I loved having him as a teacher of an adult class as well as my kids having him in high school.When he opened the store, whenever I needed a book to read, he would order it for me if he didnt have it.He ordered me many sets.We are all avid readers in our family and its hard to get books here that you want.He provided that for me.I will be forever in his debt and will miss him greatly.Thank you so much for expressing that on your site. Love Jeanie”

zane-zieman-obit-2-1-09-rcj

This was an interesting find on the internet from the University of Alabama : Zane Zieman Letters, 1945, 3 letters, 2 postcards, 8 pages
Letters written by Corporal Zane Zieman of the 89th Field Artillery Battalion in Luzon, Philippine Islands during World War II, to his mother Mrs. W.A. (Winnifred A.) Zieman and sister, Enid Zieman, of Midland, Haakon County, South Dakota.
  http://www.lib.ua.edu/content/findingaids/indexsql.php?alpha=z

You can also sign a Rapid City Journal online Guestbook for Zane at:

http://www.legacy.com/RAPIDCITY/GB/GuestbookView.aspx?PersonId=123568277

Folks left some very nice memories about Zane in the Rapid City Journal Guestbook:

Guest Book for

Zane Zieman

Page 1 of 1

  
  

   February 4, 2009
Dear Mrs. Zieman and family:
I also was a student at BCHS from ’68-72 and remember how Mr. Zieman was liked by many students and how he was always so helpful to us during our days of learning. I had not seen him since I graduated from high school until I came home for my mom’s funeral and I stopped in his shop on main street. It was such a pleasant surprise to see him again and we had a nice visit. (We talked about Colorado as I had lived 18 years in Colorado Springs.) My sympathies to you and your family.
   Shirley Schlack (Webster City, IA)
Contact me

   February 4, 2009
Dear Mrs. Zieman and family,
Mr. Zieman also taught me English and supervised the high school library where I was an assistant during my high school years (1968-72). (I can still hear him asking, “Questions? Thoughts? Ideas?”) It’s a measure of his influence that I still remember his comments on term papers I submitted. I know he submitted a stellar recommendation for me as I sought college scholarships, for which I was and am very thankful. I was a hospital librarian in Pierre for nearly 20 years, so you can see the influence he had. I am so sorry for the loss your family has experienced and join you in celebrating Mr. Zieman’s life.
   DeAnn (DeKay) Hilmoe (Pierre, SD)

   February 3, 2009
See my tribute to Mr. Zieman at http://www.prairiewoman.net/ I credit 2 people with my love for books and reading. My mother, and Mr. Zieman. A wonderful teacher who made a big impression on my life.
   Roseanna Renaud (Martin, SD)
Contact me

   February 3, 2009
Dear Ziemans, I knew Zane as the father of one of my very best and loyal friends, and the more I heard about him the more I wished I’d known him better. He lives on in the creativity, compassion, and integrity of his children and students and everyone he influenced. Rest in peace, and in rest we will join you.
   Lisa Bentz (Colorado Springs, CO)
Contact me

   February 2, 2009
I am so sorry for your loss. I remember Zane in the early 60’s in Midland when his store was open. I thought it was a wonderful place to “girl” shop, and Zane was so nice. May God be especially close to you at this difficult time. Beryl (Addison) Geer, Gillette, WY
   Beryl (Addison) Geer (Gillette, WY)

   February 1, 2009
Dear Mrs. Zieman and family:

Mr. Zieman was my English teacher at BCHS from 1966-1970, and one of my favorite teachers. I hope you know how much he was admired by many of his students. Please accept my heartfelt condolences.

   Rosemary (Vavra) Hayward (Pierre, SD)
Contact me

Comments»

1. DeAnn Hilmoe - February 4, 2009

Thanks for posting this, Roseanna, I wasn’t aware of Mr. Zieman’s passing. I really appreciate having the opportunity to comment in the guestbook.


Leave a Reply

